piektdiena, 2014. gada 12. decembris

Languedoc is a former province of France.

The government of Languedoc was created in the middle of the 16th century.

Languedoc is a significant producer of wine, and a major contributor to the surplus known as the wine lake.
Today it produces more than a third of the grapes in France.

While ''Languedoc'' can refer to a specific historic region, usage since 20th century has primarily referred to the northern part of the region Languedoc Roussillon.

The history of Languedoc wines can be traced to the first vineyards planted along the coast near Narbonne by the early Greeks in the fifth century BC.
During both World Wars the Languedoc was responsible for providing the daily rations given to French soldiers. 

The Languedoc Roussillon region shared many terrain and climate characteristics with the neighboring regions of Rhone and Provence. The composition of soil in the Languedoc varies from the chalk, limestone and gravel soils inland to more alluvial soils near the coast.

Wines from the Mediterranean coast of Languedoc are labeled as Languedoc, those from the interior have other labels such as Fronton, Gaillac ar Limoux. But wines from this region can also carry an enormous number of names, ranging from broad regional designations to very specific geographical classifications with restrictions on grape variety.

The five best known appellations in the Languedoc include 
*Languedoc AOC
*Coribi`eres AOC
*Minervois AOC
*Saint Chinian AOC

Syrah is a principal grape in many Languedoc red blends, but the area is home to numerous grape varieties, including Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay.

Nav komentāru:

Ierakstīt komentāru